Creative Justice is the theme of the fourth conference run by A Deeper Communion, a network that connects Canadian ministry leaders, practitioners, and academics at the intersection of disability and theology.

How do we influence our churches and organizations to nurture adaptive communities that work for the just consideration of all in society? This season of continued disruption and change presents unique opportunities to recalibrate how we express our solidarity and concern for every person, regardless of their life situation. Creative Justice explores the beautiful and innovative ways our faith communities and ecclesial leaders can build constructive pathways of mutuality and concern reaching every part of society. This conference will facilitate a deep conversation led by church leaders and leading experts with and without disabilities on the theme.

We look forward to your participation and contribution in helping to shape another meaningful experience together. 

 

Plenary Speakers

Headshot Photo of Brian DoerksenBrian Doerksen

Brian Doerksen’s songs (‘Refiner’s Fire’ ‘Faithful One’) are sung in faith communities around the world. In 2008, Brian received a JUNO award for ‘Holy God’ (Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the year) and in 2014 at the Covenant Awards he received a ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ from the Gospel Music Association of Canada. Brian continues to write new songs and is the director of a new online songwriting program called ‘Unlocking Your Songs’. His 6 adult children include 2 sons with special needs, and he lives with his wife of 38 years Joyce and their family in Abbotsford, BC.

 

Headshot photo of Dr. Amy Kenny

Dr. Amy Kenny

Dr. Amy Kenny is a disabled scholar whose writing has been featured in Teen Vogue, Sojourners, Shondaland, Reader’s Digest, Huff Post, and in her book, My Body Is Not a Prayer Request. She coordinates support for people experiencing homelessness in her neighbourhood, and is a co-founder of Jubilee Homes OC, a permanent supportive housing initiative in her local community.  She is currently launching the Disability Cultural Initiative at Georgetown University, a role that seeks to celebrate the diverse disability community and cultivate a culture of access across campus.

 

Register Now

Saturday, June 10, 2023
10:30am – 4:30pm ET (8:30am – 2:30pm MT)

In-person at McMaster Divinity College, 1280 Main St W, Hamilton, ON
In-person at Ambrose University, 150 Ambrose Circle SW, Calgary, AB
Online livestream via Zoom

In-Person Admission: $75.00
Online Admission: $45.00

REGISTER

 

Schedule

All times in Eastern Time (ET) and Mountain Standard Time (MST).

Time Session
10:00 ET / 8:00 MST Registration
10:20 AM ET / 8:20 MST Welcome
10:30 ET/8:30 MST Introduction to the Theme
10:35 ET / 8:35 MST Worship/Plenary 1: “Love And Creativity In The Middle Of An Imperfect Life
Brian Doerksen
On-site: Hamilton
11:30 ET/9:30 MST Morning Break
11:45 ET / 9:45 MST TEDD Talk Presentations
Moderator: Keith Dow
Speakers:
Paul Lucas (Hamilton)
Sheldon Penner (Calgary)
Meagan Gillmore (Hamilton)
Tim Schmidt (Calgary)
1:00 PM ET / 11:00 MST Lunch
2:00 ET / 12:00 MST Plenary 2
Dr. Amy Kenny
Livestream
3:00 ET/1:00 MST Break
3:10 ET / 1:10 MST Breakout Sessions
Academic Stream (Hamilton)
Lived Experience Stream (Hamilton)
Pastoral Stream (Hamilton)
Practical Stream (Calgary)
4:20 ET/2:20 MST Break
4:30 ET / 2:30 MST Worship
Brian Doerksen
On-site: Hamilton
4:50 ET / 2:50 MST Wrap up and Dismissal

On-site locations are marked where applicable. ALL sessions will be available via livestream and will be recorded and sent to participants.

Call For Papers

Our call for papers is now closed. We thank everyone who submitted a proposal. Our planning committee will be contacting those selected to present papers soon.

 


A Deeper Communion is a network of organizations that connects Canadian ministry leaders, practitioners, and academics at the intersection of disability and theology.